What’s Your //Sign?

June 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Its been a long time since I wrote a new conquest post. Well guess today is an obviously busy day, but I managed to finish my application on time and i’m using the spare time I have to post this. Todays conquest is -drumroll- .hack//Sign!!!!

Oh goodness this anime brings back so many memories, mainly of the confusion in the story and characters. I was really young back then, staying up all the way to midnight just to watch it, and made my brother watch one episode with me. Goodness I want to thank toonami for having its weekend lineup with one of the most memorable animes for me, hell this anime was THE anime that clearly stuck with me, more so than Outlaw Star. .Hack//Sign is directed by Kōichi Mashimo and produced by studio Bee Train and Bandai Visual ; the show aired on the Tokyo Broadcasting System (TBS) on April 4th 2002 that aired 26 episodes with character design by Yoshiyuki Sadamoto (known for his Evangelion series). The show aired in America by Bandai Entertainment (time unknown). The unique aspect of .hack//Sign is that the world is set inside a game, an online game called “The World” with actual players logging in and out, doing quests, and NPC’s selling items or handing out quests.

The story revolves around Tsukasa, a confused player who, for some reason, cannot log out; not only log out but can feel things and pain in the game. Distraught by his current situation, he gets unwanted attention from the Crimson Knights for Cheating as well as players interested in him. Though the atmosphere of the world is set in a game, Tsukasas reactions are real, in which he himself is trapped, despite the few friends he has his psyche is pushed to the limits and he cannot bring himself to trust others later on in the show. Though the show takes a break from Tsukasa himself, the players interested in him for his well being (Mimiru, Bear, BT, Subaru, and Crim), all ponder on how to help him in his situation and more importantly how he is trapped in the game. In a sense despite the angsty and depressing air the show gives off, the viewers (or in my case) are hooked in to solve why Tsukasa is trapped. A mystery unfolds and slowly pieces of information begin to fit in place. The story is a bit vague for me, but more or less I remember that Tsukasa and this “Mystery” are intertwined together. If I could describe the genre of the show, it would be loosely around mystery and tear jerker; the characters each have an aspect that is real and us as viewers cannot help but love and follow these characters.

 

My most favorite characters are Mimiru, a heavy blade player who’s personality is an easily irritated girl who under her own “Tough Guise” wants to help and understand Tsukasa in her own way. My most favorite pairing for Tsukasa is Subaru, a cute girl who is disabled in real life, and plays in game to fill in for her disablity; Subaru is the first person that Tsukasa becomes attached to and the two both share a melancholic bond that form their trust. Bottom line is there are many characters that I would love to talk to but for the sake of expediency (and memory loss) I will talk about them in another post.

The world in .Hack//Sign is simply beautiful. The landscape around is much more interesting than your typical fantasy roleplaying game; the areas are brought to life with beautifully detailed land and the town Mac Anu gives off a busy but peaceful aura. The music fits in wonderfully with the characters, the fields, and the tragic moments that still give me awe (Hell I own one of the soundtracks). Art and music aside, the boice acting for the English dub is really well done (considering it was half assed back in that time). The dialogue is easy to pick up but not too boring that it would make one fall asleep. The strongest aspect of .Hack//Sign is its art, dialogue, and its depressing but strongly tied plot. Well that is all I guess. I shall pounce on this conquest as soon as I can, with 26 episodes and no laptop I will have to finish at my own pace. One thing is that I will not try to finish the entire show in one night (which made me depressed the last time I did, gave up on episode 5 and cried to sleep).

I wish you, my readers, will give me luck and I wish you all have a succesful week. Until next time “Live long and prosper” (yes I know Star Trek -.-) Before I go I would like to advertise someone I know who has done me a great service, my friend Skylo  is in need of some cheering up, so go watch her on DA if you can and tell her I sent you (no really, please do XD). Anyways, thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s Your //Sign? at findvega25.

meta

