God’s Memo Pad (NOT DEATH NOTE!)

October 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

I will say that I am not a really big fan of mysteries. If they don’t capture me on the first episode I will most likely overlook it and never return to it unless someone puts me up to it. Recently however I have made an exception for one reason. The saving grace for any mystery series to make me continue on is a cute loli… and this is a tale of that such myster XD

God's Notebook

A really cute Loli

To start I would like to say that I did not willingly watch this because I wanted to. My friend Luis kept nagging me to watch it because I would “Like it” and I continually ignored it until… he said the magic 4 words… “It has a Loli”. I immediately searched for it and confirmed that it indeed had a loli and thus watched it. Though knowing it was a mystery I did not have much hope that I would enjoy it. “It has a Loli but I might not watch it if its not good.” I told my friend… and boy did I eat my words.

Okay aside from my super fangasm, the series is really great. It’s a mystery series that involves various cases each with their own gravity and drama. From suicide, missing person, and drugs, Alice the NEET Detective can solve it with her gang of hoodlums… er I mean helpers. Kami Sama no Memo Chou was originally a light novel series written by Hikaru Sugii with illustrations by Mel Kishida. The light novel was published  January 2007 and ended September 2011. Shortly after a manga adaptation followed and the anime aired July 2011. To make this entry clear a NEET is an acronym for the government classification for people currently “Not in Education, Employment or Training” and I hope this makes this entry clear to understand.

The story is revolved mainly around Narumi Fujishima, a 16 year old high school student who thinks of his life as a pixel, unimportant and meaningless. This all changes when he comes across a girl jumping off a hotel balcony and lands on a pile of trash. Giving the girl a helping hand he is put in a hold by a young guy with a rifle under the suspicion that he is a suspect until two of his associates (a former boxer and a gigolo) notify their otaku friend that the suspect got away. Narumi heads off to school and meets Ayaka Shinozaki, a fellow classmate and the only member of the gardening committee; after a small spat between the two Narumi joins the gardening committee. After school Ayaka leads Narumi to the ramen shop… and what waits him there are the same three guys from earlier that day!

Narumi

What You Talking About...

If chance encounters aren’t your thing then please bear with it a bit longer… Anyhow not only are the three NEETS (well 2… Guntaku is actually in college), the three all work for a very very angry boss. So if they are NEETS then why are they working? The answer is that they work as information gatherers for a shut-in 12 year old looking loli with severe insomniac problems! This so called Alice calls herself a NEET Detective, a speaker for the deceased by solving mysteries their crimes left unsolved with her high intellect; to make it even cuter her diet is comprised of ramen and Dokupo (Dr. Pepper). Again my loli complex kicked in but anyways Alice is super Meta; she has about so many computers overclocking, teddy bears and stuffed animals all around her bed and she’s in her pajamas all day unless she goes out (rarely), there is nothing about Alice that I don’t dislike. She is simply too awesome and cute.

TOO META!!!

The first episode is around 40 min long and it left me in awe. The first mystery revolves around the missing disappearance of a girl and the only lead Alice has is the girls best friend and boyfriend (who are also searching for her). While hunting for clues, Narumi confronts the suspect (named Miku) and questions the suspect and finds out more about the missing girl. Miku’s attachment to her friend was because she was simply a perfect role model and the only clue she has is the girls phone. Soon after learning this Alice makes her move and stops Miku from searching and questions her about the phone which reveals that Miku’s so call Idol worked as a prostitute and her phone held the evidence. Deducing Miku’s story to fill in the gap she reveals that the missing girls boyfriend has been buying a large amount of ice every single day since her disappearance. The crime is solved and the police find her body in a bath tub of ice with her wrists slashed, revealing she ended her life while the boyfriend preserved her body to keep her wish of “Stopping Time Here”.

At this point I am amazed that one episode had captivated me to keep going. The characters each are unique and different and Narumi’s relationship with Alice is one that is too cute to ignore (crack pairing). Of Course their relationship is that of a trainer and a monkey (Narumi being the monkey and insulted by Alice), yet the two share moments that simply make me smile, cry, or just laugh out loud. Narumi and Alice both win my heart as two great characters that should be together. Its really a heartwarming experience just watching these two interact.

You're My Bitch

My Bitch

Of course many of the characters each are great. Tetsu is friendly and always makes friends but he always owes money to people, Shiso is enthusiastic when it comes to spy gadgets and survival games, and Hiro is simply… a womanizer… no no Womanizer is too much, he simply has sex with women and befriends them ^^ He’s a manwhore! Of course my favorite character (That is not Naru or Alice) is Yondaime, the leader of an all NEET Yakuza group. Despite his tough behavior and superhuman strength he is perhaps one of the softest characters in this series mainly because he fixes all of Alice’s stuffed animals (in secret of course, he still has to be tough!). Yondaime and Narumi become close because of Alice and eventually the two form a bond of brotherhood complete with a ritual. If there is a strong point in this show I would have to say it would be the characters that simply make the story that much realistic.

You're My Bro

The thing I find most depressing rather than infuriating is that its short… only 12 episodes long. More characters are introduced and each make such an impact on the story. One being a vagabond named Renji who was once a friend of Yondaime who returns with a vengeance for allowing the death of his crush. Before these events pass Narumi and this guy become friends and eventually do the same brotherhood ritual (and hinting that he had done this with a former friend). Despite fucking shit up for the gang he learns the truth of his crush and reconciles with his friend. What I would wish is that there be more episodes with familiar faces returning and more mysteries to solve but sadly this won’t happen. I do however say that the final few episodes get super intense as Ayaka gets involved and is put in the hospital and leaves our poor Narumi confused and guilty. The series ends perfectly and this truly makes up for being only 12 episodes long.

Ayaka Coma

My final thoughts… I was forced to watch this series by one of my friends… kept watching for the loli, but ended up leaving with a rich story. This show is simply a must watch for any mystery/lolicon out there. The characters all are great, the mysteries are full of suspense and drama, and the art style is simply awesome. I highly recommend this as a must watch for 2011. Well that should be enough… Before I go I leave you with my most cherished treasure… Goodnight!

DOKUPO!?

DOKUPO!?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading God’s Memo Pad (NOT DEATH NOTE!) at findvega25.

meta

